Railway Modernisation

Stations and Terminals
scotch egg


A Expert Group has been constituted under the Chairmanship of Mr. Sam Pitroda to recommend ways and means to modernize Indian Railways to meet the challenges of economic growth, the aspirations of the common man, the needs of changing technology and the expanding market while at the same time ensuring adequate focus on addressing social and strategic requirements of the country in consonance with Indian Railways' national aspirations.

The Terms of Reference of the Committee would involve outlining strategies for modernization of Railways with a focus on track, signaling, rolling stock, stations and terminals; using ICT for improving efficiency and safety; augmenting existing capacities of Railways through indigenous development; reviewing projects and addressing PPP issues.


  1. Shri Sam Pitroda, Chairman
  2. Shri Deepak Parekh
  3. Shri M.S.Verma
  4. Shri G. Raghuram
  5. Dr. Rajiv Lall
  6. Shri Vinayak Chatterjee
  7. Shri Ranjan Jain, Secretary


  1. Railway Modernization Report

Ministry of Railways

Railway Board

Contact Us

Call Call: 011-23389215

email Email: advinf[at]rb[dot]railnet[dot]gov[dot]in

Reach Us

Shri Ranjan Jain,

Adviser (lnfra.), Railway Board
Secretary of Expert Group,
Modernization of Indian Railways